Thursday, February 14, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, July 14, 2019 - 17:00
Thursday, February 14, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, July 14, 2019 - 17:00
Saturday, March 30, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, September 15, 2019 - 17:00
Friday, April 19, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, October 6, 2019 - 17:00
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, July 28, 2019 - 17:00
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, September 15, 2019 - 17:00
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, October 6, 2019 - 17:00
Thursday, May 23, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, March 22, 2020 - 17:00
Saturday, June 22, 2019 - 12:00 to 16:00
Friday, June 28, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, November 3, 2019 - 17:00
Saturday, June 29, 2019 - 14:00 to 15:30
Friday, July 12, 2019 - 13:00 to 14:00
Saturday, July 13, 2019 - 10:00 to 16:00
Thursday, July 25, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, January 12, 2020 - 17:00
Thursday, July 25, 2019 - 13:00 to 14:00
Thursday, July 25, 2019 - 15:45 to 16:45
Friday, July 26, 2019 - 13:00 to 14:00
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, December 15, 2019 - 17:00

Plum Blossom and Green Willow: Surimono Poetry Prints

Wednesday, October 31, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, March 17, 2019 - 17:00

FREE EXHIBITION
2 October 2018 – 17 March 2019

Some of the finest examples of Japanese printmaking in the early nineteenth century were the exquisitely printed woodblock prints called surimono (‘printed objects’). These privately published prints combined witty poems with elegant images by leading designers. This exhibition highlights rarely shown surimono from the Ashmolean’s collections, including a number of new acquisitions, offering a rare insight into Japanese literati culture and customs of the early nineteenth century.

Gallery 29 | Admission Free