Tuesday, May 1, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, October 7, 2018 - 05:00
Tuesday, July 31, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, December 16, 2018 - 17:00
Friday, August 31, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, January 6, 2019 - 17:00
Tuesday, September 25, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, February 24, 2019 - 17:00
Tuesday, September 25, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, December 2, 2018 - 17:00
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 14:00 to 16:00
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 18:15 to 19:15
Sunday, September 30, 2018 - 11:00 to 12:00

Magic in History, Magic in Art

Sunday, September 30, 2018 - 11:00 to 12:00

Magic mirrors, unicorn horns, concealed corsets and pierced hearts. This lecture explores the extraordinary visual culture of magic over a thousand years, from medieval angels and demons to the persecution of witches and magical objects concealed in modern homes. This fascinating talk concludes with a discussion of the relationship between contemporary art and magical thinking.

Ashmolean Museum, Beaumont Street, Ashmolean Museum, Beaumont Street, Oxford, Oxfordshire, OX1 2PH