Thursday, February 7, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, June 9, 2019 - 17:00
Wednesday, October 31, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, April 7, 2019 - 17:00
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, June 9, 2019 - 17:00
Thursday, February 14, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, July 14, 2019 - 17:00
Thursday, February 14, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, July 14, 2019 - 17:00
Saturday, March 16, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, June 9, 2019 - 17:00
Monday, March 25, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, June 9, 2019 - 17:00
Friday, March 29, 2019 - 14:00 to 16:00
Friday, March 29, 2019 - 17:00 to 20:00
Friday, March 29, 2019 - 18:00 to 19:00
Saturday, March 30, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, September 15, 2019 - 17:00
Monday, April 1, 2019 - 13:00 to 14:00
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 - 14:00 to 16:00
Friday, April 5, 2019 - 14:00 to 16:00
Friday, April 12, 2019 - 13:00 to 14:00
Friday, April 19, 2019 - 10:00 to Sunday, October 6, 2019 - 17:00
Friday, April 26, 2019 - 17:00 to 20:00
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 - 14:00 to 16:00

Antinous: Boy Made God

Tuesday, September 25, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, February 24, 2019 - 17:00

FREE EXHIBITION
25 September – 24 February

Antinous was a boy-favourite of the Emperor Hadrian. He drowned in the Nile in A.D. 130, and the emperor founded a city in middle Egypt in his honour called Antinoopolis or ‘Antinous City’. A striking portrait of the boy was created by a great court sculptor, and this image was widely reproduced around the empire. More than eighty busts and statues survive. This exhibition explores the spread of Antinous’ image and his empire-wide cult as a hero and god.

Gallery 8 | Admission Free