Tuesday, May 1, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, October 7, 2018 - 05:00
Tuesday, July 31, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, December 16, 2018 - 17:00
Friday, August 31, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, January 6, 2019 - 17:00
Tuesday, September 25, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, February 24, 2019 - 17:00
Tuesday, September 25, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, December 2, 2018 - 17:00
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 14:00 to 16:00
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 18:15 to 19:15
Sunday, September 30, 2018 - 11:00 to 12:00

Antinous: Boy Made God

Tuesday, September 25, 2018 - 10:00 to Sunday, February 24, 2019 - 17:00

FREE EXHIBITION
25 September – 24 February

Antinous was a boy-favourite of the Emperor Hadrian. He drowned in the Nile in A.D. 130, and the emperor founded a city in middle Egypt in his honour called Antinoopolis or ‘Antinous City’. A striking portrait of the boy was created by a great court sculptor, and this image was widely reproduced around the empire. More than eighty busts and statues survive. This exhibition explores the spread of Antinous’ image and his empire-wide cult as a hero and god.

Gallery 8 | Admission Free